A cognitive theory of compulsive checking

I’ve found a scientific article which very precisely describes how I experience OCD. The article is written by S. Rachman and is available for free as PDF here.

The theory is this:

“Compulsive checking occurs when people who believe that they have a special, elevated responsibility for preventing harm feel unsure that a perceived threat has been adequately reduced or removed. In their attempts to achieve certainty about the absence or the unlikelihood of harm occurring, people with high responsibility repeatedly check for safety. Paradoxically, these attempts to check for safety can produce adverse affects that turn the checking behaviour into a self-perpetuating mechanism.”

Spot on.

Rachman also describes a model of compulsive checking which emphazises INFLATED SPECIAL RESPONSIBILITY as the underlying cause of compulsive checking. That sounds true I think. This has to be dealt with cognitively. Mindfulness is helpful (not included in Rachmans recommendations).

The engagement in compulsive checking behavior starts a vicious cycle that is a self-perpetuating mechanism. I guess we all know that: Checking doesn’t help – but we do it anyway.

According to Rachman checking results in:
– Raised responsibility
– Impaired memory
– Increased danger

In the end an OCD attack results in an increased need to be especially careful and thereby maintaining or even increasing the OCD tendencies.

It goes on and on and on and on.

I have now started to use mindful awareness of the inflated sense of responsibility. The root cause, perhaps.

Rachman also challenges the standard behavior treatments that focus on exposure and response prevention. According to Rachman exposure is not that important. Response prevention still is important. And there has to be more focus on dealing with the underlying assumptions that cause the inflated responsibility. I suggest mindfulness based cognitive therapy or meta cognitive therapy.

This entry was posted in Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A cognitive theory of compulsive checking

  1. ocdtalk says:

    Thank you for this post. My son also dealt with hyper-responsibility, but Exposure Response Prevention Therapy worked for him. The exposures were very important because they allowed for so many “response preventions.” This is ultimately what led to his recovery,

    • mindfulocd says:

      That sounds great for your son. In my experience exposure is also very important, but with compulsive checking there is a very thin line between exposure and checking. I have found that what I might say to my self is exposure actually is checking. The conseuquence is that the false exposure prolongs the OCD episode. So I think we have to differentiate between true and false exposure. At least I have to be especially aware of that. It is probably very individual.

  2. avaelyn says:

    I was recently diagnosed with OCD, and this theory behind the compulsive checking definitely resonates with me. I do seem to have this elevated sense of responsibility, like somehow I should be able to prevent harm to anyone and everyone. The whole world is literally on my shoulders. I realize that I don’t have drivers licence is because I don’t trust myself to not cause an accident. It’s just nice to know sometimes that there are others like me. I hope one day to learn how to not feel like I have to be responsible for the world.

    • mindfulocd says:

      Talking about driving and OCD…

      When I was 18 I had an OCD episode that lasted for over a year. It began when I moved away from home and continued afterwards for a long time. It came when I was out driving in my parents car. Suddenly I began to obsess about whether or not I hav driven over someone on the road. Although I at the same time knew that I hadn’t. But I just wasn’t completely sure so I had to drive back to the same place and make sure that no one was dead. Again and again and again. Every time I was home at my parents. And when I was away unable to perform the physical checking I was doing mental checking in stead. Until I got home to my parents again and drove the same route in the car to check and be sure. I can’t remember what made it go away. It was probably that some other compulsive urge took over and pressed the previous one out of my mind.

      And yes, it helps to know that we are not alone with this…

  3. timronblue says:

    Thank you for this helpful blog! It’s nice to find others who are willing to talk about their experiences. If you or anyone you know might be interested, I have recently published a memoir about my battle with OCD. It’s called Compelled: A Memoir of OCD, Anxiety, Depression, Bi-Polar Disorder, and Faith (Sometimes). Long title, huh? Anyway, I’ll be checking back in with your blog from time to time. Thanks again!

  4. Danielle says:

    This OCD Self Screening Test can be a good first step to getting help for readers out there who think you may be struggling with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder.

  5. Logan says:

    I find that when I am able to trace compulsive urges to a source or a trigger it seems to be largely based in responsibility, need for acceptance/comfort/certainty.

  6. Sarah says:

    The idea that ocd stems from a heightened sense of personal responsibility really resonates with me. I feel like it’s MY job to make sure x doesn’t happen but I don’t hold others to that same level of hyper vigilance as I do to myself. Thanks for this tidbit of understanding in my journey towards managing my ocd.

Leave a comment